esc home
state support team
View ESC of Northeast Ohio
Local Professional Development Committee & Forms

Local Professional Development Committee (LPDC) 

The Educational Service Center (ESC) of Northeast Ohio's Local Professional Development Committee is responsible for reviewing and approving all Individual Professional Development Plans (IPDP) and professional development activities that educators propose/complete for the purpose of licensure maintenance and renewal. The LPDC meets every second Tuesday of the month during the school year and does not typically meet in July and August.

All certificated employees are required to submit an Individual Professional Development Plan (IPDP) outlining professional development goals for the current licensure cycle. The IPDP must be submitted to the committee within sixty (60) days of being hired and/or receiving the initial five-year professional license. Regardless of the number of licenses held individuals are only required to complete and submit one Individual Professional Development Plan. The plan must be revised at the beginning of each new licensure cycle. Annual workshops are held by the LPDC to assist educators in filing their plans and professional development activities with the committee.

Employees are encouraged to review the ESC of Northeast Ohio Local Professional Development Committee’s handbook.  Questions regarding the Local Professional Development Committee can be directed to Michele Shrefler.  
HB 438 

The Educational Service Center of Northeast Ohio (ESCNEO) is pleased to welcome all educators not currently employed within a school/district to join the ESCNEO Local Professional Development Committee (LPDC). With the passage of House Bill 438, effective Sept. 28, 2018, licensed individuals who are not employed in schools/districts with a LPDC, may work to renew their licenses through a cooperating educational service center’s Local Professional Development Committee (LPDC). 

Contact Information

Michele Shrefler, M. Ed.
Director, Education Quality Programs
            2020 - 2021 Members
Michele Shrefler, Chairperson
Carrie Cercone   EA 
Kathleen Clingerman Dann    ESCNEO
Candice Evans   ESCNEO
Jeanne Kline   ESCNEO
Julie Lanigan   PEP
Anthony Liber   PEP
Jim Lucas   PEP 
Jen Napier  EA 
Kathlene Nowicki   ESCNEO
Dan Ogilvy  ESCNEO 
Brian Roberts   PEP
Carolyn Williamson   ESCNEO
Amy Yoho   ESCNEO

Educational Service Center of Northeast Ohio
6393 Oak Tree Boulevard South, Independence, OH 44131
P:(216) 524-3000  |  F:(216) 524-3683  |  [email protected]
facebook twitter youtube google maps
State Support Team 3
Essex Place
6393 Oak Tree Blvd, Independence, Ohio 44131
P:(216) 524-3000  |  F:(216) 446-3829    
© 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Education Software created by eSchoolView
View text-based website
View desktop-view website